Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

CALENDAR ITEM: MU program to induct first cohort of Science Education Teacher Fellows

Sixty Mid-Missouri teachers to participate in leadership program

May 8th, 2018

Story Contact: Jeff Sossamon, 573-882-3346,

WHAT: The first cohort of 20 central Missouri K-12 science teachers will be inducted into a University of Missouri science teacher education program.

Wipro, a global information technology, consulting and business process service company, granted $1.1 million to Meera Chandrasekhar, a Curators Teaching Professor of Physics at MU, to lead the Wipro Science Education Fellowship project. MU is one of three new sites chosen for the program.

“We’re honored that Wipro chose to support this important work at Mizzou,” Chandrasekhar said. “With it we’ll be able to work with K-12 teachers to hone their skills in teaching all science subjects such as biology, earth science, chemistry and physics. We look forward to working with these teachers as they continue to grow and develop their science teaching and leadership skills.”

Three cohorts of 20 teachers each will be recruited from school districts in Boone County and adjacent counties and will participate starting in 2018, 2019 and 2020.

WHO: MU faculty, staff, students, alumni and the general public

WHERE: Bond Life Sciences Center Atrium

WHEN: 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 8

NOTE: For more information, please visit: Grant Used to Train Science Educators