Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

MEDIA ADVISORY: MU to Host Global Issues Forum on Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program

November 19th, 2009

Story Contact: Emily Martin, (573) 882-3346,

WHAT: The University of Missouri will host a Global Issues Forum on the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program as part of International Education Week. The Chronicle of Higher Education recently listed MU as one of the “Top Producers of Fulbright Awards for U.S. Scholars” among research institutions for 2009 –10. The forum will feature MU faculty who have received Fulbright grants; each faculty member will describe their experience abroad and its impact on their work at MU. A Q&A session will follow the presentations

Each year, the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program sends scholars and professionals to more than 100 countries, where they lecture or conduct research in a variety of academic and professional fields. This year’s MU Fulbright U.S. Scholars are Mark Ashbaugh, professor of mathematics, in Chile; Nathan Boyer, professor of art, in Austria; Jere Gilles, professor of rural sociology, in Bolivia; and Robert O’Connell, professor of engineering, in Ireland.

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. Since 1998, more than forty MU faculty members have been named Fulbright U.S. Scholars.  Although the U.S. Scholar Program is focused on sending faculty abroad, there are three other components to the Fulbright Program: the Fulbright Program for U.S. Students, the Fulbright Foreign Student Program and the Fulbright Visiting Scholar Program.

WHO: Speakers at the forum include:

  • Denice C. Adkins, associate professor of information science and learning technologies; Fulbright Award: Honduras,  2007-08  
  • David O’Brien, professor of rural sociology; Fulbright Award: Russia,  2003-04  
  • Brick Johnstone, professor of health psychology; Fulbright Award: Ireland,  2004-05  
  • Michael Urban, associate professor of geography; Fulbright Award: China,  2006-07

WHERE: Chambers Auditorium, MU Student Center, MU Campus.

WHEN: 3:30 – 5 p.m., Thursday, Nov. 19.

NOTE: This event is free and open to the public.