Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

MEDIA ADVISORY: MU Recognizes Student Achievement at Tap Day

April 27th, 2012

Story Contact: Christian Basi, 573-882-4430,

The University of Missouri will recognize student leaders for their academic and extracurricular achievements at the 85th annual Tap Day ceremony. Six honorary organizations on campus – LSV, Mortar Board, Mystical Seven, Omicron Delta Kappa, QEBH and The Rollins Society – will reveal their new members and “tap” them into their organizations.

Students are chosen based on exemplary academic performance, extracurricular activities, scholarship, leadership and service. Faculty and staff members also may be tapped for their contributions to the student experience at MU.

Speakers at the event include:

  • MU Chancellor Brady Deaton
  • Provost Brian Foster
  • Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Cathy Scroggs
  • Missouri Students Association President Xavier Billingsley.

New members of the honorary organizations, chosen by current members, are kept secret until the Tap Day ceremony.

Francis Quadrangle, MU Campus

Rain location is Jesse Hall Auditorium

2 p.m., Friday, April 27

This event is free and open to the public. The ceremony will be followed by a small refreshment reception.